Interview Archive page: published 2004

Matt Wallace

Record producer video interview

Watch our exclusive video interview with Matt Wallace shot at Studios Deluxe. Claris of asked the questions and Johnny Jaskot of directed.

Matt produced, engineered & mixed Faith No More's "Angel Dust" - which was listed in Kerrang magazine as the Number 1 'Most Influential Album of all Time'.

Watch Matt Wallace talking about record production at his recording studios  - deluxe studios, california

Matt Wallace's career in music started as a musician, playing and singing original songs in various Bay Area bands. Matt's reputation as a record producer, recording engineer and mixer sometimes obscures the fact that he is also a very capable musician having performed on many of the albums he's produced, though he rarely seeks credit for such work because he feels it is part of his role as producer.

Matt sang backup vocals on albums by Faith No More, The Replacements, H20, Sugarcult, Flybanger, Khaleel, and others. He played drums on The Replacements' "Don't Tell A Soul" and on Paul Westerberg's "14 Songs". He played guitar on recordings by John Hiatt, Sheryl Crow, Bic Runga and numerous others. Matt has played percussion on many of his productions and even on quite a few of his mixes for others.

Matt produced, engineered & mixed Faith No More's "Angel Dust" - which was listed in Kerrang magazine as the #1 Most Influential Album of all Time (May 2003).

Although he never achieved fame as a musician, singer or writer, the experience gave Matt the understanding to help bands with arrangements and chord choices as well as occasional co-writes. All this is to say that, in addition to being an accomplished engineer and mixer, Matt is a very musical producer who has a keen ear for songs and arrangements.

Special thanks to Claris of and Johnny Jaskot of for producing this superb video feature!

Further information regarding Matt can be found here.

Credits include

- Virginia Coalition - forthcoming album (P-E-M)
- Kyle Riabko - self-titled EP (Aware) (P-E-M)
- Kyle Riabko - forthcoming album (Aware) (P-E-M)
- Caleb Kane - forthcoming album (P-E-M)
- Mushroomhead – XIII produced one track, mixed album (Republic/Universal) (M)
- Squad Five 0 – Late News Breaking (Capitol) (P-E-M)
- Minus Driver – A Message For You EP (Republic/Universal) (P-E-M)
- Udora – forthcoming album in production (J Records) (P-E-M)
- Automatic Black - forthcoming album (Arista) (P-E)
- Wakefield - American Made (Arista) (P-E-M)
- 6Gig - Mind Over Mind (Ultimatum) (P-E-M)
- Maroon5 – Songs About Jane (Octone) (P-E-M)
- Sugarcult - Start Static (Ultimatum) (P-E-M)
- H20 - GO (MCA) (P-M)
- Blues Traveler - Bridge (Interscope) (P)
- Flybanger - Headtrip To Nowhere (Columbia) (P-M)
- Ultra-V (f/k/a Ruth Ruth) - Bring on the Fuego (RCA) (P-E-M)
- Gary Stier (f/k/aBuffalo Nickel) - The Albatross (33rd Street Records) (CP-M)
- Portable - Secret Life (TVT) (P-M)
- DDT - Urban Observer (The Music Company / Elektra) (P)
- Khaleel - People Watching (Hollywood) (P-E-M)
- Dog's Eye View - Daisy (Columbia) (P-E-M)
- Train - "If You Leave" from the band's debut album (Aware) (P-E-M)
- Chantal Kreviazuk - Under These Rocks and Stones (Columbia) (CP-E-M)
- Suncatcher - The Girl That God Forgot (Restless) (P-E-M)
- Deftones - "Teething" from the The Crow: City Of Angels soundtrack (P-E-M)
- Satchel - The Family (Epic) (CP-E)
- Enormous - Busman's Holiday (A&M) (P)
- Red Five - Flash (Interscope) (P)
- Dimestore Hoods - Dimestore Hoods (MCA) (P)
- Replacements - Don't Tell A Soul (Sire/Reprise) (P-E)
- Royal Jelly - Royal Jelly (Island) (P)
- Weapon of Choice - Highperspice (Loose Groove) (P-E-M)
- John Hiatt - Perfectly Good Guitar (A&M) (P-E)
- Paul Westerberg - 14 Songs (Sire/Reprise) (P-E-M)
- Faith No More - Angel Dust (Slash/Reprise) (P-E-M)
- Faith No More - The Real Thing (Slash/Reprise) (P-E-M)
- Faith No More - Introduce Yourself (Slash/Reprise) (P-E-M)
- School of Fish - Human Cannonball (Capitol) (P)
- Spent Poets - Spent Poets (Geffen) (P)
- Dishwalla - "It's Going To Take Some Time" (A&M) (P) from the Carpenters Tribute Album
- Sheryl Crow - "Solitaire" (A&M) (P-M) from the Carpenters Tribute Album
- Matthew Sweet - "Let Me Be The One" (A&M) (P-M) from the Carpenters Tribute Album
- 4 Non-Blondes - "Bless The Beasts And Children" (A&M) (P-M) from the Carpenters Tribute Album
- Redd Kross - "Yesterday Once More" (A&M) (P-M) from the Carpenters Tribute Album

Selected MIX credits

- Ultrapull – several tracks From All Directions (Gold Circle) (M)
- Anotherrace – several tracks from forthcoming album (Festival) (M)
- Moke – “Hanging Around” (radio mix) (Ultimatum) (M)
- Fenix TX – “Flight 601 (All I've Got Is Time)” (radio mixes) (MCA) (M)
- Train - "Meet Virginia" & "Free" (radio mixes) (Columbia) (M)
- Peter Searcy - "Losing Light Fast" (Time Bomb) (M)
- Mars Electric - "Someday" (Portrait/C2) (M)
- Everlast - "So Long" from the End Of Days soundtrack (M)
- R.E.M. - "Revolution" from the Batman & Robin soundtrack (E-M)
- Bic Runga - Drive (Columbia) (M) (4x platinum in New Zealand – (biggest selling debut album by a local female artist)
- The Honeyrods - The Honeyrods (Capricorn) (M)
- Howlin' Maggie - Honeysuckle Strange (Columbia) (M)
- Butthole Surfers - "Whatever" from the Romeo & Juliet soundtrack (M)
- Ednaswap - Ednaswap (EastWest) (M)
- Rolling Stones - live tracks for HBO Special (M)

P=produced / CP=coproduced / E=engineered / M=mixed